The National Council of University Students (CNSU) is a student representative body. It represents students at Italian universities. All those enrolled in bachelor, master, specialisation and doctorate courses.
In fact, the body is regulated by the Ministry of Universities and Research (MUR).

Elections of members take place every three years. The next elections will probably take place in May 2022. Voting takes place at each Italian university campus.

The tasks of the National Council of University Students

The CNSU gives its opinion on this:

to projects proposed by the MUR for the reorganisation of universities

the general criteria of the education system

student orientation and mobility

compulsorily to the Ordinary Financing Fund (FFO)

prepares proposals on topics of general interest to the university

questions the Minister on teaching and student status

It also submits the Student Status Report to the Minister within the first year.

Other Ministerial roles

The CNSU elects 8 student representatives to the National University Council (CUN). Three are appointed to the Advisory Committee of the National Agency for the Evaluation of the University System and Research (ANVUR) and to the National Association of Bodies for the Right to University Studies (ANDISU).

The Council is also a supporter of Civicrazia and a permanent observer of the National Youth Council. Finally, it has a contact person for the Falcone Foundation and for Unisport Italia – National University Sports System.

Composition of the National Council of University Students

Composed of student representatives from all over the country. The term of office is three years.

Bachelor’s and Master’s students

28 / 30 STUDENTS

Elected from representative lists. 7 students are elected from each of the 4 electoral districts in which Italy is divided.

Postgraduates and PhD students

2 / 30 Studenti

Nominal candidates throughout the country.

Our presence

We historically participate in national elections in three districts. Namely:Northwest with Liguria, Lombardy, Piedmont and Valle d’Aosta.North-East with Emilia-Romagna, Friuli Venezia Giulia, Marche, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto. Centre with Abruzzo, Lazio, Tuscany and Umbria.

 In the articles we explain our activities in the organ, each piece of news is also on our social pages.